Australia Women enter ICC World T20 final
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Ground:Beausejour Stadium, Gros Islet
Scorecard:Australia Women v India Women
Player:AJ Blackwell, J Goswami, M Raj, PG Raut
Event:ICC Women's World Twenty20 2010

DateLine: 14th May 2010


The Australian women stamped their authority over the Indian side with a comprehensive win. The Australian women displayed the same professionalism that is always being associated withe the men's side. The Australian women completed a seven-wicket victory as they entered the final of the tournament.


The Indian side batted first and they hoped to put on a huge score. Barring Raut none of the batswomen scored big or briskly. The brightest star in the batting line-up Mithali Raj failed to score big and that contributed to a below par total of 119 in their 20 overs.


Captain Jhulan Goswami effected an early breakthrough, bowling out Villani via her pads. But Shelly Nitschke and captain Alex Blackwell were undeterred. The left-right combination didn't allow the Indian bowlers to settle down: using their feet smartly, the Aussies set out after the target with zeal.