Andrew Hall sees Northants home
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Scorecard:Northamptonshire v Hampshire
Player:AJ Hall, N Boje, AD Mascarenhas
Event:Twenty20 Cup 2009

DateLine: 31st July 2009


South Africa all-rounder Andrew Hall led Northamptonshire to a 13-run win over Hampshire which booked their place in the Twenty20 Cup semi-finals.


The right-hander hit an unbeaten 39 and then took three wickets, the last two being the final two of the Hampshire innings which sealed the home side's victory.


Hall's 39 came off 24 balls which propelled a struggling Northants innings up to 134-6 from their 20 overs after being put in by Hampshire.


Chasing the modest total, the visitors were in with a good chance at 121-6 with Dimitri Mascarenhas and Dominic Cork at the crease, but then they lost the last four wickets without adding another run to crash out of the competition.


The hosts did not start off well, with Mascarenhas removing Stephen Peters for a duck to make the score 1-1. Then Cork also chipped in to get rid of Rob White.


After Mascarenhas (2-24) grabbed his second wicket, Northants slumped to 16-3 and looked in trouble, but 27 from Niall O'Brien and 22 from Riki Wessels aided them.


In the final overs Hall and Johan van der Wath powered onwards from there, adding an unbeaten 52 with Hall the star as he hit one six and four fours in his 39 for the hosts to close on 134-6.


What looked as a small target looked a tricky one one after Hall made an early breakthrough bowling Jimmy Adams for nought, before Michael Lumb hit 26 off 17.


Skipper Nicky Boje took two wickets and as the run rate crept up as Mascarenhas began a counter-attack with his quick-fire 36, including a six and four fours.


However, he unluckily played on against van der Wath, who also claimed Chris Tremlett's wicket in the 19th over, leaving the stiff task of 14 being needed in the final over at 121-8.


Hall then stepped up and had Cork caught for eight before bowling Tom Burrows for a duck and Northants had sealed a first ever visit to finals day of the Twenty20 Cup.